Counseling with Jamie

walking along side you as you heal and grow

Doodling

Leave a comment

I find myself doodling quite a bit these days. One thing that I find myself doodling over and over, even if it is in the air, is a butterfly. I collect penguins and ladybugs…why don’t I doodle them? Sure, I could doodle these, too…but I tend to doodle butterflies more than anything and quite a few flowers.  Even when I write in my gratitude journal, I draw a little flower or butterfly next to each thing I am grateful for….or maybe a little heart.   I got to wondering what this might mean about me, so I looked it up! I found an interesting article here and learned that my flowers may indicate a gentle personality, a love of nature, and sometimes childlike innocence. I found an article online once, that I can no longer find that said some similar things but it said that flowers are doodled by social workers quite a bit…and…well….I AM a social worker! And yet another more extensive link has even more analysis of doodles!

I looked for butterfly doodles and really didn’t find much, so I had to analyze myself. The butterfly is a symbol of healing and growth. If a caterpillar wasn’t allowed to grow and push through the cocoon on its own, it never would be able to fly. That represents to me what I believe…adversity builds our strength…so that we will one day be able to fly.Do you doodle?  What types of doodles do you find yourself making?  What do you think they represent?

Leave a comment